hospitals adventure!

Duaas please :)

Salamualaikum wr wbt, yes, insh’Allah I submitted an essay for Obs & Gynae competition, why should it be my specialization of choice. And results will be out tomorrow.

On the authority of Abu Hurayrah (may Allah be pleased with him), who said that the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) said:

“Allah the Almighty said:

‘I am as My servant thinks I am . I am with him when he makes mention of Me. If he makes mention of Me to himself, I make mention of him to Myself; and if he makes mention of Me in an assembly, I make mention of him in an assembly better than it. And if he draws near to Me an arm’s length, I draw near to him a fathom’s length. And if he comes to Me walking, I go to him at speed.”

[Buhkari (also by Muslim, at-Tirmidhi and Ibn-Majah).]

insh’Allah whatever the results is – it’ll be tomorrow, so, please squeeze me in your precious duaas please! 🙂

Here’s the essay 🙂

***

The tear of mothers, the waves of excitement in the hearts of the fathers and the relieving sighs of the midwives. These are amongst a thousandth of reasons why I loved to stay even for hours in the labour wards. Be it nulliparous or multiparous moms, for every birth, there is a different concerto behind it. And each of these births, it is indeed a unique experience for everyone in the room. It was my first time experience given the opportunity to be involved actively in this natural process which never fails to bring a light of happiness and overwhelming was an understatement. For each birth, I was determined, that mothers to be free from anxiety and their newborns to be taken care optimally.

Before this, to be a respiratory physician lecturer was one of my biggest ambitions. However the glimpse and knowledge which revolves around women touched me more than just an ambition. True indeed, that every specialty has their own spices, but the spices of Obstetrics and Gynaecology struck me extraordinarily than others. How my lecturers here whom have progressed and are respected, I always wondered why. Then I noticed, it was the aura of wanting to give their best for women and mothers which bloom them so well – this is the aura of sincerity. For decades, women have become one of the most influential people on earth, the backbone of nations and in Islam, paradise lies under the feet of a mother shows how important women are, thus, what more can you gain in taking care of their healthcare especially. My mother is one of the people who never fail to inspire me, and always have been there for me during ups and downs. And she always tells me to work hard for my dream and give my best to help those around me. In my country, there is  a huge lacking for Obstetricians and Gynecologists, thus, this strengthen my willpower to give my all for it. It is true indeed, that interest plays an important part for us to fly well in the career path, but fulfilling the needs of the community is also a factor which should not be ignored.

Nevertheless, given the opportunity to be with future mothers in antenatal wards do have a mixture of happiness and the opposite. I find these experiences invaluable for some are expecting their only child after able to conceive and they are always full of anxiousness and anticipation. Conveying good news is easy and gives us doctors an indescribable satisfaction. But on the other hand, conveying news about a miscarriage for example can be quite appalling. However, these are the challenges I look forward to and will try take up as these not only teaches us about medicine. It teaches us about life. About how we do not only care about the best treatment or management we can offer them, but about how far we are able to be in their shoes and understand them. The latest advancements of fertility treatment also wonders me for this could be the only light for one to have a family.

Being able to comfort a woman or a mother is such a rewarding experience for me, moreover being able to help them go through stages of being a patient of a benign vulval lesion or someone who underwent hysterectomy. The feeling of satisfaction being able to undergo these situations with them is beyond the satisfaction of treating someone with asthma for example. The valuable experience of going through different stages of a woman’s life from the day she was born until she is post-menopausal, this is indeed a beautiful bio physiological process, and I am very interested in learning and knowing more about this.  Being a woman myself, I always put myself in the patient’s shoes to think of how even the smallest words of reassurance can change me, can motivate me and can make me better psychologically

and emotionally; alongside the biological aspect as well. And my teacher once asked me after 3 consecutive visits from women to the practice who ended up crying in the middle of the consultation,

“Why do you think women cry?  Because, no one listens to them.”

The answer is simple, but it hit me with a wise knowledge, one of the key skills which every doctor needs to be equipped with- virtue of listening.

Mother Theresa, one of the most influential women on earth, once said “Not all of us can do great things. But we can do small things with great love.” Thus I know that I am not capable to do huge things; inventing antidote to save the world from fatalities, but I will certainly give my best to care for women, mothers with great love and respect for them.

Allahua’lam. 

One thought on “Duaas please :)

Leave a Reply

